New ex ante remedies against margin squeeze

Focus Workshop on 26 November 2012, Brussels

New ex ante remedies against margin squeeze

At 26 November 2012, at the premises of Gibson Dunn Brussels, WIK Consult has organised a workshop on Margin Squeeze Testing. This topic is steadily gaining momentum as it could play an important role in the upcoming new Commission Recommendation on Cost Methodologies and Non-Discrimination expected in early 2013. Following recent statements by Vice President Kroes, SMP operators may get more pricing flexibility for wholesale services, but at the same time will face more stringent oversight against discrimination and margin squeezes.

There was a healthy interest from alternative operators all across Europe as all chairs were filled. Dr. Ulrich Stumpf started the day by presenting the NGA context of margin squeeze testing and Dr. Karl-Heinz Neumann continued with the economic framework of the test and the essential choices therein that impact the effect of the test. The morning ended with Dr. Thomas Plückebaum discussing the appropriate tools for measuring margin squeezes and reviewing some practical examples. Between the presentations was a healthy amount of discussion on the differences between countries and how specific situations could be dealt with.

After lunch, Peter Kroon presented an overview of the different approaches in Europe towards Margin Squeeze Testing, introducing four case. Three representatives from regulatory authorities and one alternative operator were presenting their approach to and experience with margin squeeze testing. There was a lot of discussion as participants had the opportunity to ask many practical questions putting their own situation in the right context.

At the end of the day, participants went home with a wealth of practical information and hopefully well equipped for the coming Recommendation from the Commission.

To top  |  Print

Peter Kroon
Phone: +49 2224 9225-58
Fax:      +49 2224 9225-68
p.kroon(at)wik.org

New ex ante remedies against margin squeeze

Focus Workshop am 26. November 2012 in Brüssel

New ex ante remedies against margin squeeze

Am 26. November 2012 fand in Brüssel ein von der WIK Consult organisierter Workshop zum Thema Margin Squeeze Testing statt. Dieses Thema gewinnt immer mehr an Dynamik, da es eine wichtige Rolle in der kommenden Empfehlung der Kommission bezüglich Cost Methodologies und Non-Discrimination spielen könnte, welche Anfang 2013 erwartet wird. Nach den jüngsten Aussagen von Vizepräsident Kroes könnten Betreiber mit beträchtlicher Marktmacht mehr Flexibilität bei der Preisgestaltung für Vorleistungsdienste erhalten, werden allerdings gleichzeitig mit strengeren Auflagen bezüglich Diskriminierung und Margin Squeeze konfrontiert.

Es bestand reges Interesse auf Seiten der alternativen Telekommunikationsbetreiber sich einen Platz für diesen Workshop zu sichern. Dr. Ulrich Stumpf begann die Reihe der Vorträge mit einer Darstellung des Margin Squeeze Testings im NGA Kontext. Anschließend und ergänzend sprach Dr. Karl-Heinz Neumann über die wirtschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen des Tests und die wesentlichen Entscheidungen. Der Morgen endete mit einer Präsentation von Dr. Thomas Plückebaum über die geeigneten Instrumente für Margin Squeeze Testing und einige praktische Beispiele. Zwischen den einzelnen Vorträgen gab es immer wieder Gelegenheit zu Diskussion über die unterschiedlichen Konstellationen und Problemstellungen in den verschiedenen Ländern.

Nach der Mittagspause stellte Peter Kroon anhand von vier Fallstudien einen Überblick über die verschiedenen europäischen Ansätzen zu Margin Squeeze Testing vor. Im Anschluss präsentierten drei Vertreter von Regulierungsbehörden und ein alternativer Betreiber ihre Herangehensweise an und Erfahrungen mit Margin Squeeze Testing. Abschließend folgte eine angeregte Diskussion in deren Verlauf die Teilnehmer Gelegenheit hatten diverse praktische Fragen vor allem bezüglich ihrer eigene Situation zu erörtern.

Alle Teilnehmer konnten aus diesem Workshop wertvolle praktische Informationen und ein gutes Rüstzeug für die kommende Empfehlung der Europäischen Kommission mitnehmen.

Peter Kroon
Tel.: +49 2224 9225-58
Fax: +49 2224 9225-68
p.kroon(at)wik.org