Digital infrastructures of municipal utilities

Municipal utilities push the process of digitization in a variety of ways. They set up and operate digital infrastructures such as data centres, wired broadband networks (e.g. fiber to the home/fiber to the building) or radio networks (WLAN, LoRaWAN). Municipal utilities provide the digital infrastructure without which the digitization of local markets or administrations cannot work at all.

The present study shows two aspects: on the one hand, where and how municipal utilities are involved in the field of digital infrastructures, and on the other hand, what business potential is offered to municipal utilities in digital infrastructures. This is because they can significantly expand their already existing positive contributions and become the backbone of digitization even more than before.

The analysis therefore initially focuses on the deployment of wired broadband infra-structures. For economic reasons, there will usually only be one FTTB/H infrastructure in the medium to long term, so that the first operator can centre demand on itself. This is particularly promising if the provider of this infrastructure acts as a wholesale-only provider and is therefore not in competition with the national providers for end customers. Alternatively, "open access" offers from vertically integrated providers can improve the utilization of new gigabit infrastructures. In the mobile communications sector, municipal utilities can above all ensure the connection of mobile communications sites with fiber optics.

The study outlines how municipal utilities can support the digitization of the economy and society today and tomorrow, in particular by occupying new topics such as smart city. Finally,  this also addresses the policy areas that will influence the activities of municipal utilities in the field of building, expanding and operating modern (network) infrastructures today and in the future (sector-specific regulation, broadband funding, frequency policy, etc.).

The study (in German language) is available for download.

To top  |  Print

Dr Bernd Sörries
Phone: +49 2224 9225-23
Fax:     +49 2224 9225-63
b.soerries(at)wik.org

Digitale Infrastrukturen kommunaler Unternehmen

Kommunale Unternehmen treiben auf vielfältige Art und Weise den Prozess der Digitalisierung voran. Sie errichten und betreiben digitale Infrastrukturen wie Rechenzentren, leitungsgebundene Breitbandnetze (z. B. Fibre to the Home/Fibre to the Building) oder Funknetze (WLAN, LoRaWAN). Kommunale Unternehmen stellen insoweit die digitale Infrastruktur bereit, ohne die eine Digitalisierung von lokalen Märkten oder Verwaltungen gar nicht funktionieren kann.

Die vorliegende Studie zeigt zwei Aspekte auf: Zum einen, wo und wie kommunale Unternehmen im Bereich digitaler Infrastrukturen engagiert sind, zum anderen, welche Potentiale sich kommunaler Unternehmen bei digitalen Infrastrukturen bieten. Sie können nämlich ihre bereits bestehenden positiven Beiträge nochmals deutlich ausweiten und noch stärker als bisher zum Rückgrat der Digitalisierung werden.

Im Fokus der Analyse steht deshalb zunächst der Aufbau von leitungsgebundenen Breitbandinfrastrukturen. Aus wirtschaftlichen Gründen wird es in der Regel mittel- bis langfristig nur eine FTTB/H Infrastruktur geben, so dass das erste ausbauende Unternehmen die Nachfrage auf sich konzentrieren kann. Dies ist vor allem erfolgversprechend, wenn der Anbieter dieser Infrastruktur als Wholesale-only Anbieter auftritt und somit nicht mit den  nationalen Anbietern im Wettbewerb um Endkunden steht. Alternativ können „Open Access“-Angebote von vertikal integrierten Anbietern die Auslastung neuer Gigabit-Infrastrukturen verbessern. Im Mobilfunkbereich können kommunale Unternehmen vor allem für eine Anbindung von Mobilfunkstandorten mit Glasfaser sorgen. 

Die Studie skizziert, wie kommunale Unternehmen die Digitalisierung von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft heute und morgen unterstützen können, insbesondere auch durch die Besetzung neuer Themenfelder wie etwa Smart City. Damit werden abschließend auch die Politikfelder angesprochen, die die Tätigkeiten von kommunalen Unternehmen im Bereich des Auf- und Ausbaus sowie Betriebs moderner (Netz-) Infrastrukturen heute und künftig beeinflussen werden (sektorspezifische Regulierung, Breitbandförderung, Frequenzpolitik, etc.).

Die Studie steht zum Download zur Verfügung.

Dr. Bernd Sörries
Tel.: +49 2224 9225-23
Fax: +49 2224 9225-63
b.soerries(at)wik.org