Online advertising: the impact of targeted advertising on advertisers, market access and consumer choice

The online advertising sector is growing at a significant rate in the past years, a trend that has been accelerated during the COVID-19 pandemic. While social interaction and attention increasingly takes place online, consumers and also SMEs as “end-users” become more exposed to online advertising. These advertisements are delivered by intermediary services, so called “Advertising Networks”, and are targeted to the individual user on the basis of their behaviour and personal data. This raises important questions about privacy, the potential of for exploitive discrimination and market power.

The existing legislative framework which applies to online advertising markets with all its relevant actors (e.g., P2B Regulation, ePrivacy Directive, GDPR, ...) will be complemented by new measures included in the proposals to the Digital Service Act and Digital Markets Act. The WIK study "Online advertising: the impact of targeted advertising on advertisers, market access and consumer choice" identifies opportunities and risks of targeted online advertising from the perspective of consumers and companies against the background of current legislation and develops possible approaches to address these from a regulatory perspective.

For this purpose, the online advertising market is analysed with regard to its different value creation stages and market participants. Technical characteristics of different targeting methods such as real-time bidding (RTB), the design of advertising auctions, the role of data, cookies and other tracking tools are explained and economic implications for consumers, advertisers, providers of advertising space and intermediaries are derived.

Based on a detailed literature review, an analysis of legal frameworks, as well as stakeholder interviews and country-specific case studies, the study develops clear recommendations. These include information obligations, design guidelines for obtaining advertising authorisation, transparency regulations with regard to algorithms, advertising auctions and the success of advertising campaigns. In addition, measures to prevent abusive behaviour by intermediaries (e.g. bundling) are suggested, which can be assigned a gatekeeper role in the sense of the DMA draft.

The study is available for download.

To top  |  Print

Online advertising: the impact of targeted advertising on advertisers, market access and consumer choice

Der Markt für Onlinewerbung verzeichnet einen stetigen Wachstumstrend, der durch die COVID-19-Pandemie nochmals verstärkt wurde. Soziale Interaktion findet zunehmend online statt und einen Großteil unserer täglichen Aufmerksamkeit spenden wir auf Webseiten oder Apps. Verbraucher und KMUs werden so immer häufiger Empfänger von zielgerichteter Onlinewerbung. Intermediäre Dienstleister, sog. Advertising Networks, analysieren zu diesem Zweck Verhaltensmuster sowie personenbezogene Daten individueller Nutzer. Dies wirft Fragen hinsichtlich der Privatsphäre und des Datenschutzes, einem möglichen Diskriminierungspotential durch Algorithmen sowie der Wettbewerbssituation im Markt für Onlinewerbung auf.

Der bereits existierende europäische Rechtsrahmen (z.B. P2B-Regulation, ePrivacy Directive, GDPR, ...) wird demnächst durch Maßnahmen der aktuellen Entwürfe zum Digital Service Act und Digital Markets Act ergänzt. Die vorliegende WIK-Studie „Online advertising: the impact of targeted advertising on advertisers, market access and consumer choice“ identifiziert Chancen und Risiken durch zielgerichtete Onlinewerbung aus Sicht von Verbrauchern und Unternehmen vor dem Hintergrund aktueller Gesetzgebung und zeigt mögliche Ansätze auf diese regulatorisch zu adressieren.

Zu diesem Zweck wird der Onlinewerbemarkt hinsichtlich seiner verschiedenen Wertschöpfungsstufen und Marktteilnehmer analysiert. Technische Charakteristika unterschiedlicher Targeting-Methoden wie Real-time Bidding (RTB), das Design von Werbeauktionen, die Rolle von Daten, Cookies und anderer Tracking-Tools werden erläutert und ökonomische Implikationen für Verbraucher, Werbetreibende, Anbieter von Werbeflächen und Intermediären abgeleitet.

Auf Basis einer ausführlichen Literaturanalyse, einer Bestandsaufnahme juristischer Rahmenwerke, sowie Stakeholder-Interviews und länderbasierten Fallstudien, entwickelt die Studie klare Handlungsempfehlungen. Dazu gehören Informationsverpflichtungen, Design Guidelines zur Einholung von Werbeberechtigungen, Transparenzregelungen in Bezug auf Algorithmen, Werbeauktionen und den Erfolg von Werbekampagnen. Zusätzlich werden Maßnahmen zur Verhinderung von missbräuchlichem Verhalten durch Intermediäre (z.B. Bundling) angeregt, denen im Sinne des DMA Entwurfs eine Gatekeeper Rolle zugesprochen werden kann.

Die Studie steht in englischer Sprache zum Download zur Verfügung.