Boards© Photo Credit: Robert Kneschke -


Shareholder, Supervisory Board, Scientific Advisory Board and Economic Advisory Board

WIK is supported by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Climate Protection (BMWK).

Representatives from science, business and public authorities actively support the work of WIK with their know-how in the Supervisory Board, the Scientific Advisory Board and the Business Advisory Board.

Supervisory Board

The control of the management, the approval of the business plan and the research and work programme are among the most important tasks of the Supervisory Board.

The Supervisory Board consists of the following members:

  • Ministerialdirigent Dr Thomas Solbach (Chairman), Federal Ministry of Economics and Climate Protection.
  • Director Ute Dreger, Federal Network Agency for Electricity, Gas, Telecommunications, Post and Railway
  • Professor Dr. Thomas Fetzer, LL.M (Vanderbilt), Chair of Public Law, Regulatory Law and Tax Law, Faculty of Law and Economics, Department of Law, University of Mannheim  
  • Professor Dr. Bernd Holznagel, Institute for Information, Telecommunications and Media Law (ITM), WWU Münster, Faculty of Law
  • Ministerialdirigent Marco-Alexander Breit, Federal Ministry of Economics and Climate Protection
  • Ministerial Director Gertrud Husch, Digital Connectivity, Federal Ministry of Digital Affairs and Transport
The Scientific Advisory Board advises and supports the Executive Board in the preparation and implementation of the research and work programme.

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board consists of the following members:

  • Professor Dr. Bernd Holznagel (Chairman), Institute for Information, Telecommunications and Media Law (ITM), WWU Münster, Faculty of Law
  • Professor Dr. Helmut M. Dietl, Institute of Business Administration (IBW), Chair of Services & Operations Management, University of Zurich
  • Professor Dr. Michael J. Dowling, Chair of Innovation and Technology Management, University of Regensburg
  • Professor Dr. Ludwig Gramlich, Faculty of Economics, Chemnitz University of Technology
  • Professor Dr. Justus Haucap, Institute for Competition Economics (DICE), Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf
  • Professor Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Kellerer, Chair of Communication Networks, Technical University of Munich
  • Professor Dr. Claudia Loebbecke, Department of General Business Administration, Media and Technology Management, University of Cologne
  • Professor Dr. Marina Petrova, Chair and Institute for Networked Systems, Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule (RWTH) Aachen University
  • Professor Dr. Anna Schneider, Department of Business, Trier University
  • Professor Dr. Louisa Specht-Riemenschneider, Chair of Civil Law, Information and Data Law, Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-University Bonn
  • Professor Dr. Christoph Weber, Chair of Energy Economics, University of Duisburg - Essen
  • Professor Dr. Carl-Christian von Weizsäcker, Max Planck Institute for the Study of Common Goods, Bonn
  • Professor Dr. Jürgen Kühling, LLM, Chair for Public Law, Real Estate Law, Infrastructure Law, and Information Law, University Regensburg
The Telecommunications Business Advisory Council advises and supports the Institute in contacts and cooperation with the business community in the telecommunications sector.

Economic Advisory Board

This boad consists of the following members:

  • Norbert Westfal (Chairman), Management Board, EWE TEL GmbH
  • Dr Andreas Breuer, Westnetz GmbH
  • Valentina Daiber, Chief Officer for Legal and Corporate Affairs, Member of the Management Board of Telefónica Deutschland Holding AG / Telefónica Germany GmbH & Co. OHG
  • Dr Astrid Elbe, VP Product Development, Aviat Networks
  • Nelson Killius, Speaker of the Management Board/CEO, M-net Telekommunikations GmbH
  • Dr Thomas Koenen, Head of Department "Digitalisation and innovation", Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie e.V. (BDI e.V.)
  • Stefan Koetz, President, Customer Unit Germany & Managing Director Ericsson Germany Region Western & Central Europe, Ericsson GmbH
  • Wolfgang Kopf, Head of Policy and Regulation, Deutsche Telekom AG
  • Dr Stephan Korehnke, Head of Regulatory Affairs, Vodafone GmbH
  • Dr Wolf Osthaus, Director Public Policy DACH, Netflix Services Germany GmbH
  • Andreas Pfisterer, Chief Executive Officer, Deutsche Glasfaser Group of Companies
  • Johannes Pruchnow, Chairman of the Management Board, gabo Systemtechnik GmbH