International Postal Service, Remuneration and Regulation

E-commerce has boosted postal imports of low-value consignments from Asia, particularly China, to Europe. This significant growth  challenged postal operators and customs authorities in the single market. The WIK-Consult study entitled ‘International Postal Service, Remuneration and Regulation’ explores the development of international postal services in the EEA and assesses recent UPU reforms of the remuneration system including their impact on postal operators. The study examines import models for international e-commerce consignments along with the requirements and procedures concerning VAT, customs and security regulations. Furthermore, it discusses the import VAT reform and the reform of the security rules (ICS2) and how they will affect international postal and express services.

The assessment is based on extensive desk research and intensive stakeholder interaction. Online surveys and interviews were conducted among EEA designated operators, national regulatory authorities and ministries, and national customs authorities gathering input from practical and regulatory perspectives.

The study concludes that the provision granting designated operators the right to ‘self-declare’ terminal dues rates for the delivery of imported e-commerce goods will reduce the distortions under the current system. The reforms in customs and import VAT regulations are a step forward in the direction towards levelling the playing field between postal and express operators, as well as between EU and non-EU e-retailers.

The study is available for download.

To top  |  Print

Antonia Niederprüm
Phone: +49 2224 9225-29
Fax:      +49 2224 9225-63
a.niederpruem(at)wik.org

International Postal Service, Remuneration and Regulation

Der Onlinehandel hat zu einem erheblichen Anstieg der Postimporte von Warensendungen mit geringem Wert aus Asien, insbesondere China, nach Europa geführt. Dieses signifikante Wachstum stellt Postunternehmen und Zollbehörden im Binnenmarkt vor besondere Herausforderungen. Die WIK-Consult-Studie mit dem Titel „Internationaler Postdienst, Vergütung und Regulierung“ untersucht die Entwicklung internationaler Postdienste im Europäischen Wirtschaftsraum und bewertet die jüngsten UPU-Reformen des Vergütungssystems und deren Auswirkungen auf die nationalen Postunternehmen. Die Studie untersucht Importmodelle für internationale E-Commerce-Sendungen sowie die Anforderungen und Verfahren in Bezug auf Mehrwertsteuer-, Zoll- und Sicherheitsbestimmungen. Darüber hinaus werden die Reform der Einfuhrumsatzsteuer und die Reform der Sicherheitsvorschriften (ICS2) sowie deren Auswirkungen auf internationale Post- und Expressdienste erörtert.

Die Bewertung basiert auf umfangreichem Desk Research und Gesprächen mit Stakeholdern. Es wurden Online-Befragungen und Interviews mit nationalen Postunternehmen, Regulierungsbehörden und Ministerien sowie nationalen Zollbehörden durchgeführt, um Input sowohl aus der Praxis als auch aus regulatorischer Sicht zu bekommen.

Die Studie kommt zu dem Schluss, dass die UPU Reformen der Endvergütungen, die nationalen Postunternehmen das Recht einräumt, selbst die Höhe der Vergütung unter Einhaltung bestimmter Regeln festzulegen („self-declared rates“), die ökonomischen Verzerrungen in dem derzeitigen System verringern wird. Die Reformen der Zoll- und Einfuhrumsatzsteuervorschriften sind darüber hinaus ein wichtiger Schritt in Richtung einheitlicher Wettbewerbsbedingungen zwischen Post- und Expressbetreibern sowie zwischen Onlinehändlern innerhalb und außerhalb der EU.

Die Studie steht in englischer Sprache zum Download zur Verfügung.

Antonia Niederprüm
Tel.: +49 2224 9225-29
Fax: +49 2224 9225-63
a.niederpruem(at)wik.org