The role of MVNOs in mobile markets

On behalf of the Irish telecommunications regulator ComReg, WIK-Consult has dealt with mobile markets, and particularly with the role of MVNOs. A main focus lied on MVNO business models and their development against the backdrop of technological innovations (e.g. IoT, 5G) and competitive challenges (e.g. competition from secondary brands of MNOs, importance of digital marketing and sales channels).

In addition to the analysis of the current market situation, the study focuses on historic developments in the Irish mobile market, especially since the 4 to 3 merger in 2014. Furthermore, reference is made to the situation in international benchmark countries, such as Japan, New Zealand, Germany, Spain, and Austria.

Due to the market concentration resulting from the merger, the study recommends to take a close look at the access conditions of MVNOs, especially with regard to high data volumes and 5G, in particular against the backdrop that the merger conditions will expire in a few years.

The study is available for download.

To top  |  Print

Ilsa Godlovitch
Phone:     +32 2 830 0380
Mobile: +32 497 505641
i.godlovitch(at)wik-consult.com

Dr Christian Wernick
Phone: +49 2224 9225-92
c.wernick(at)wik.org

Die Rolle von MVNOs im Mobilfunk

Im Auftrag der irischen Regulierungsbehörde ComReg hat sich WIK-Consult mit Mobilfunkmärkten und insbesondere der Rolle von MVNOs beschäftigt. Ein Hauptaugenmerk lag dabei auf MVNO-Geschäftsmodellen und deren Entwicklung vor dem Hintergrund technologischer Innovationen (z.B. IoT, 5G) und wettbewerblicher Herausforderungen (z.B. Konkurrenz durch Zweitmarken der MNOs, Wichtigkeit digitaler Vermarktungs- und Vertriebswege).

Neben der Analyse der aktuellen Marktsituationen geht die Studie im Detail auf die historischen Entwicklungen im irischen Mobilfunkmarkt in den letzten Jahren ein, insbesondere seit der Fusion von 4 auf 3 Mobilfunknetzbetreiber im Jahr 2014. Außerdem wird auf  die Situation in Japan, Neuseeland, Deutschland, Spanien und Österreich Bezug genommen.

Aufgrund der Konzentration seit des Mergers kommt die Studie zu dem Ergebnis, dass ComReg die Zugangsmöglichkeiten der MVNOs insbesondere im Bereich hoher Datenvolumina und bei 5G genau im Auge im behalten sollte, insbesondere da die Fusionsauflagen in wenigen Jahren auslaufen werden.

Die Studie steht in englischer Sprache zum Download zur Verfügung.

Ilsa Godlovitch
Tel.:     +32 2 830 0380
Mobil: +32 497 505641
i.godlovitch(at)wik-consult.com

Dr. Christian Wernick
Tel.: +49 2224 9225-92
c.wernick(at)wik.org